BTEC Computing - Block B @ The Leigh Academy

Information and Communication Technology

Information and Communication Technology
Information and Communication Technology
We are only accepting one application per candidate.

What will you be working towards?

Code TLA-17
Qualification Type National Extended Certificate (BTEC)
Qualification Level Level 3
Course type Full Time


The BTEC National Extended Certificate is practical, work-related course. Students will develop computational thinking skills to effectively analyse a problem, break it down into its component parts and design and evaluate solutions. Students learn by carrying out external examination and assignments that are based on realistic workplace situations, activities and demands. Students focus on particular subject areas and develop a range of specialist skills and knowledge. The course also benefits from a flexible unit structure which matches content to student's interests. Possible optional units include Digital Graphics animation, mobile apps development and computer games development.


Year 1

  • Unit 1: Principles of Computer Science 
  • Unit 2: Fundamentals of Computer Systems

Year 2 

  • Unit 7: IT Systems, Security and Encryption
  • Unit 15: Website Development

How will it be delivered?

Written examination and achieving specified learning outcomes

Entry requirements

  • 5+ GCSEs 9-4, to include Grade 4 English Language or Literature, Mathematics and a Science related subject.
  • Grade 5 in Computing or Computer Science.

Your next steps...

This course will prepare you for an Undergraduate degree course at University.


Careers could include:

  • Software Designer
  • Controller
  • Computer Game Designer
  • Teacher