BTEC ICT (Single) - Block A @ The Leigh Academy

Information and Communication Technology

Information and Communication Technology
Information and Communication Technology
We are only accepting one application per candidate.

What will you be working towards?

Code TLA-21
Qualification Type National Award (BTEC)
Qualification Level Level 3
Course type Full Time


The BTEC National Foundation Diploma is a practical, work-related course. Students learn by carrying out two examinations and assignments that are based on realistic workplace situations, activities and demands. Students focus on particular subject area and develop a range of specialist skills and knowledge. The course also benefits from a flexible unit structure which matches content to students' interests. Possible optional units include Data modelling, Computer Games Development and Software Testing. 


Year 1

Unit 1: Information Technology Systems

Unit 2: Creating Systems to manage information

Unit 3: Using Social media in Business

Unit 9: IT Project Management

Year 2

Unit 4: Programming

Unit 6: Website Development

Unit 7: Mobile Apps Development

Unit 11: Cyber Security and Incident Management

How will it be delivered?

Entry requirements

  • 5+ GCSEs 9-4, to include Grade 4 English Language or Literature, Mathematics and ICT

Your next steps...

This course will prepare you for an Undergraduate degree course at University.

Careers could include:

  • Software Designer
  • IT Analyst
  • Website Designer
  • Teacher