Information Technology BTEC level 3 Diploma

Information and Communication Technology

Information and Communication Technology
Information and Communication Technology
We are only accepting one application per candidate.

What will you be working towards?

Qualification Type National Award (BTEC)
Qualification Level Not Set
Course type Full Time


Information technology is seen by many as one of the most important subjects taught in schools today. Not only have computers become a vital part of our everyday lives, most employers now expect a high level of computing knowledge and adaptability from their employees to meet the demands of ever-evolving technology. The software and devices students will be using five years from now will be totally different from what we are currently using and students will need the skill and the ability to adapt to this rapidly evolving age. 


Students will take 8 units of which 6 are mandatory and 3 are externally assessed.



  • Information technology systems
  • Creating systems to manage information
  • Using social media in business
  • Programming
  • IT project management
  • Cyber Security and Incident management
  • Website development
  • Digital 2D and 3D graphics

The BTEC level 3 diploma in information technology is designed specifically to provide specialist work-related qualifications in a range of sectors and give learners the knowledge, understanding and skills needed to prepare them for employment in the IT world and beyond. 

How will it be delivered?

Three units are externally assessed through examination and six units are internally assessed.  All assessment for the BTEC qualifications in this specification is criterion referenced, based on the achievement of specified learning outcomes.  Each unit within the qualification has specified assessment and grading cirteria which are to be used for grading purposes.  A summative unit grade can be awarded at 'Pass (P)', 'Merit (M)' or 'Distinction (D)'.

Entry requirements

General entry requirements:

International Baccalaureate Career-Related Programme:  3 x grade 6  and 2 x grade 5 at GCSE or equivalent.

Your next steps...

On successful completion of a BTEC level 3 diploma in information technology, learners can progress into or within employment or continue their study in the same area at degree level.