Information Technology

Information and Communication Technology

Information and Communication Technology
Information and Communication Technology
We are only accepting one application per candidate.

What will you be working towards?

Code 023
Qualification Type National Award (BTEC)
Qualification Level Level 3
Course type Full Time



Young people taking their first steps towards a new career need the right blend of technical and academic skills in order to become the highly skilled, work-ready individuals, employers and universities look for.

BTEC Level 3 Nationals are vocational qualifications designed to help learners succeed.  The Pearson BTEC Level 4 National Extended Certificate in Information Technology is equivalent in size to one A Level.  It is designed for learners who are interested in a basic introduction to the study of IT alongside other fields of study, with a view to progressing to a wide range of higher education courses, not necessarily in IT.  Learners will develop a common core of IT knowledge and study areas such as managing and porcessing data to support business and using IT to communicate and share information.


They give learners the knowledge, understanding and skills that they need to prepare for employment of progression to higher education, degree and professional development programmes within the same or related areas of Infomation Technology study. 



Edexcel BTEC Level 3 Certificate – 2 units

The BTEC Level 3 Certificate is broadly equivalent to one GCE AS Level.

Edexcel BTEC Level 3 Extended Certificate – 4 Units

The BTEC Level 3 Extended Certificate is broadly equivalent to one GCE A Level.



All students will study 2 mandatory CORE UNITS of:

UNIT 2 - Creating Systems to manage Information (externally assessed)

UNIT 3 - Using Social Media in Business

Extended Certificate students (4 unit course) will study two further additional units

Unit 1- Information Technology Systems (written examination)

Unit 6 - Website Development

How will it be delivered?


A student is expected to have achieved either at least 5 GCSEs grades 9-4 (or equivalent), ideally one of these being an ICT or Creative Digital Media qualification at 4 grade or above. In addition, it is strongly advised that a student should have gained grade 4 at GCSE in English and Mathematics. Students are also expected to have a keen interest in IT, be familiar with a range of software and keep themselves up to date with technological developments and advances.

Entry requirements


Your next steps...

BTEC Level 3 in IT qualifications are designed to relate to the National Occupational Standards for the sector, where these are appropriate, and are supported by the relevant Standards Setting Body (SSB) or Sector Skills Council (SSC). Some BTEC Level 3 in IT qualifications form the technical certificate component of apprenticeships and all attract UCAS points that equate to similar-sized general qualifications.

On successful completion of a BTEC Level 3 in IT qualification, learners can progress into or within employment and/or continue their study in the same vocational area.