OCR Information Technology

Information and Communication Technology

Information and Communication Technology
Information and Communication Technology
We are only accepting one application per candidate.

What will you be working towards?

Qualification Type Other Regulated/Accredited Qualification
Qualification Level Level 3
Course type Full Time


Cambridge Technical Introductory Diploma in IT – equivalent to 1 A level

The emphasis of the course is on providing you with the knowledge and skills that will enable you to use and develop IT and computer systems skills that are up-to-date and provide you with the chance to develop several career and personal interest pathways in the IT sector.

Students studying this course need to be well organised, good at working to deadlines and be interested in Information Technology - in particular how it is used in the workplace.


For this qualification learners must achieve five units and follow one specialist pathway.


  • M = Mandatory unit Learners must achieve all of these units
  • O = Optional unit Learners must achieve two optional units in their chosen pathway
  • E = External assessment
  • I = Internal assessment.

IT Infrastructure Technician pathway This pathway focuses on the design, implementation and management of an organisation’s IT Infrastructure. Plus, the activities and roles that are carried out in the workplace such as selecting hardware and software for clients, and learning how to build, upgrade or develop computer systems and networks that are safe and secure.

Units are:

  • Unit 1 Fundamentals of IT (M) (E)
  • Unit 2 Global information (M) (E)
  • Unit 4 Computer networks (M) (I)
  • Unit 17 Internet of Everything (O) (I)
  • Unit 18 Computer systems – hardware (O) (I)

The optional units will draw on the knowledge acquired from the mandatory units and will further enhance learners’ knowledge, skills and understanding with respect to the selection of hardware and software to meet the needs of clients. Learners will be able to build, upgrade or develop computer systems and networks, taking into consideration the requirements of the stakeholders

How will it be delivered?

2 externally assessed written exams and 3 internally marked and assessed units of coursework

Grade ranges: A-E (Distinction, Merit, Pass)

Entry requirements

There are no formal entry requirements. Advantageous if learners have studied similar unit content at Level 2. Recommended that learners have, or are working towards, a grade 4/grade C or above in Maths and English GCSEs.

Your next steps...

IT Technical Support, Database Administrator, Field Technician or Network Technician.