ICT BTEC Extended Certificate (Single) (Option Block E)

Information and Communication Technology

Information and Communication Technology
Information and Communication Technology

What will you be working towards?

Code ICT L3 EC
Qualification Type National Award (BTEC)
Qualification Level Level 3
Course type Full Time


This qualification is designed to support learners on an in-depth study of the computing sector as part of a 16-19 study programme.

The qualification provides the knowledge, understanding and skills that will prepare learners for further study or training.  Learners have the opportunity to develop a significant core of knowledge in information technology.



Students studying the Extended Certificate will complete three mandatory units:

  • Information Technology Systems
  • Creating Systems to Manage Information
  • Using Social Media in Business

A further optional unit will also be taught from a group that have been designed to support progression to the range of sector-related courses in higher education and to link with relevant occupational areas.  The optional units offer breadth and depth of topic areas relevant to information technology.

How will it be delivered?

Extended Certificate: Two externally marked exams and two units of coursework marked internally.

Entry requirements

Students will require a minimum of five A*-C/9-4 grades at GCSE, including English at

grade 5 or above

Your next steps...

As well as employment opportunities in a range of sectors there is potential progression to higher education courses - Higher National Diplomas, Foundation Degrees and Honours Degrees.