Health and Social Care (Single) BTEC Extended Certificate

Health, Public Services and Care

Health, Public Services and Care
Health, Public Services and Care
We are only accepting one application per candidate.

What will you be working towards?

Qualification Type National Extended Certificate (BTEC)
Qualification Level Level 3
Course type Full Time


This course is the equivalent of one A-level.

The Health and Social Care sector comprises two sub sectors; Health Care and Social Care. Health Care encompasses all hospital activities, such as medical nursing homes and GP services. The Social Care sector includes residential nursing care, residential nursing facilities, residential care facilities, domiciliary care and social work. Students are able to progress into work in the sector through degree programmes in Nursing, Midwifery, Social Work, Physiotherapy, Occupational Therapy and Pharmacy for example.


  • Human Lifespan Development (external exam) 
  • Working in Health and Social Care (external exam)
  • Meeting Individual Care and Support Needs
  • Supporting Individuals with Additional Needs

How will it be delivered?

External Examinations: 2 external examinations .
Coursework: 2 units of internally examined coursework.

Entry requirements

Minimum 5 GCSE's at grade 4, including English.

Your next steps...

BTEC Level 3 National Extended Certificate in Health and Social Care supports progression into further education, training or employment as it offers a mix of both theoretical and vocational learning. It can help towards a career in Nursing, Midwifery, Physiotherapy, Occupational Therapy, Social Work and the Police. 

Student quote - “The work is tough to start with but it is worth it in the long run. Don't give up!” Hannah, year 13.