Health and Social Care

Health, Public Services and Care

Health, Public Services and Care
Health, Public Services and Care
We are only accepting one application per candidate.

What will you be working towards?

Code PA/B8
Qualification Type National Extended Certificate (BTEC)
Qualification Level Level 3
Course type Full Time


In addition to the knowledge, understanding and skills that underpin study of the health and social care sector, this qualification gives learners experience of the breadth and depth that will prepare them for further study in the sector. This includes the opportunity for learners to choose a health studies pathway with options reflecting the progression opportunities in health care. Learners taking this qualification will study eight mandatory units: • Anatomy and Physiology for Health and Social Care • Human Lifespan Development • Working in Health and Social Care • Meeting Individual Care And Support Needs • Principles of Safe Practice in Health and Social Care • Enquiries into Current Research in Health and Social Care • Promoting Public Health • Work Experience in Health and Social Care. To develop a better understanding of the demands of the sector to demonstrate their commitment and interest in the sector when applying for further study, learners are required to undertake a minimum of 100 hours’ of work experience as part of the course and for learners. Learners are able to select five optional units from their chosen pathway. Optional units in the general pathway include: • Sociological Perspectives • Psychological Perspectives • Supporting Individuals with Additional Needs • Nutritional Health • Caring for Individuals with Dementia • Assessing Children’s Development Support Needs. 

Study hours will be appox. 6 hrs per week 


It includes a range of assessment types and styles suited to vocational qualifications in the sector. There are three main forms of assessment that you need to be aware of: external, internal and synoptic.  

Externally-assessed units  

Each external assessment for a BTEC National is linked to a specific unit. All of the units developed for external assessment are of 90 or 120 GLH to allow learners to demonstrate breadth and depth of achievement. Each assessment is taken under specified conditions, then marked by Pearson and a grade awarded. Learners are permitted to resit external assessments during their programme. You should refer to our website for current policy information on permitted retakes. The styles of external assessment used for qualifications in the Health and Social Care suite are:  • examinations – all learners take the same assessment at the same time, normally with a written outcome 

Internal Assessments 

Learners could be given opportunities to: • write up the findings of their own research • use case studies to explore complex or unfamiliar situations • carry out projects for which they have choice over the direction and outcomes • demonstrate practical and technical skills using appropriate workplace values and practices. 

Synoptic assessment  

Synoptic assessment requires learners to demonstrate that they can identify and use effectively,  in an integrated way, an appropriate selection of skills, techniques, concepts, theories and knowledge from across the whole sector as relevant to a key task. BTEC learning has always encouraged learners to apply their learning in realistic contexts using scenarios and realistic activities that will permit learners to draw on and apply their learning. For these qualifications  we have formally identified units which contain a synoptic assessment task. Synoptic assessment must take place after the teaching and learning of other mandatory units in order for learners to be able to draw from the full range of content. The synoptic assessment gives learners an opportunity to independently select and apply learning from across their programmes in the completion of a vocational task. Synoptic tasks may be in internally or externally assessed units.

How will it be delivered?

Coursework and final exam

Entry requirements

No prior study of the sector is needed, but learners should normally have a range of achievement at Level 2 in GCSEs or equivalent qualifications. 

You will need a wish to develop the following employability skils: 

cognitive and problem-solving skills: use critical thinking, approach non-routine problems applying expert and creative solutions, use systems and technology  

 intrapersonal skills: communicating, working collaboratively, negotiating and influencing, self-presentation interpersonal skills: self-management, adaptability and resilience, self-monitoring and development.

Your next steps...

The qualification is intended to carry UCAS points and is recognised by higher education providers as contributing to meeting admission requirements to many relevant courses, for example: • BSc (Hons) in Nursing • BA (Hons) in Social Work • BSc (Hons) in Physiotherapy • BSc (Hons) in Occupational Therapy • BSc (Hons) in Speech Therapy • BA (Hons) in Health and Social Care. The health studies pathway in the qualification is more scientific in nature, and learners will select from a wider range of health science units. This will support learners applying for degree programmes that expect larger amounts of prior science knowledge. This can include certain degree programmes in: • Radiography • Midwifery and Nursing • Paramedic Science • Podiatry • Healthcare Science • NHS Practitioner Training Programme. Learners should always check the entry requirements for degree programmes at specific higher education providers.